Frequently Asked Questions
Per Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, a qualifying medical condition is:
- Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment
- A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome
- Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including, but not limited to, post-traumatic stress order, if diagnosed by a state licensed psychiatrist
- Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication
- A terminal illness
- In the professional judgment of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including, but not limited to, hepatitis C,
- amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia, and wasting syndrome.
How do I get a medical card and how much does it cost?
Visit our friends at Nugg MD!
Can I have a medical marijuana identification card and own and/or purchase guns?
Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, which authorizes medical use of marijuana in Missouri, does not reference or prohibit the possession or purchase of firearms. However, federal law still may prohibit the possession or purchase of a firearm by individuals who use marijuana, regardless of whether a state has legalized marijuana for medical use. The Department of Health and Senior Services does not regulate the possession or purchase of firearms and therefore cannot say how the federal prohibition will be enforced within Missouri. Specific questions about these federal firearm restrictions should be directed to your attorney or the appropriate law enforcement agency.
When can I renew my license?
What if my license expires while my renewal is being processed?
- There is a statement in the application, on the Questions tab, that applicants must agree to when submitting a renewal application that reads: “Renewal applications that are submitted fewer than 30 days prior to the license expiration may not be processed prior to the license expiration date. Licensees are encouraged to submit renewal applications at least 30 days prior to expiration to ensure license reissuance prior to the expiration of their license.”
That statement means that since the department has 30 days to process all patient/caregiver applications, renewals that are submitted less than 30 days from the expiration date may experience a lapse in their license until the renewal application is processed.
What do I need to do once my renewal application is approved?
- Once an application has been approved, patient and caregiver licenses are immediately available to download from the registry portal. The renewed license will have a new expiration date, and will need to be downloaded from the registry portal.
To access your Patient/Caregiver license from a computer:
(1) Log into https://mo-public.mycomplia.com/.
(2) Click on ”License Dashboard” on the left side of the screen.
(3) Once on the License Dashboard, you will see a row of information about your license that starts with a green check mark. At the end of that row, under the Actions column, click on the three lines.
(4) Click “Download License”.
Mobile devices display the width of the screen slightly different than viewing the site on a computer.
To download your license from a mobile device:
- Click “Download License”.
- Click on the three lines inside the circle, a new pop-up will appear. You may have to click it twice.
- Continue scrolling over until you see the “Actions” header.
- The page will reload, within the box that shows two headers – “status” and “Application ID”, use your finger to scroll across from right to left.
- Click on “License Dashboard”.
- Click on the three lines in the top left corner.
- Log into https://mo-public.mycomplia.com/
How do I apply to be a caregiver?
- The caregiver must have a Patient Authorization Form completed by the approved patient they are applying to be the caregiver for. The Patient Authorization Form can be found on the website as well: https://health.mo.gov/safety/medical-marijuana/pdf/sample-patient-authorization.pdf
- After the caregiver has a completed Patient Authorization Form, the caregiver needs to complete an online application through the registry portal. For a complete guide for how-to apply, please visit the Patient Services – How-to Apply page on our website: https://health.mo.gov/safety/medical-marijuana/how-to-apply-pi.php
How many caregivers can a patient designate?
- Patients can designate up to two caregivers. The patient must be licensed and the caregiver(s) must be licensed according to 19 CSR 30-95.030(8)(B).
How many patients can a caregiver have?
Who can be a caregiver for a licensed minor patient?
- The legal guardian or parent that completed the Parental/Legal Consent Form in the minor patient’s application must serve as the qualified patient’s primary caregiver. See 19 CSR 30-95.030 (2)(A)7.
- Only legal guardians or parents of a licensed minor patient may serve as their licensed caregiver. See 19 CSR 30-95.030 (2)(B)6.
What do I need to renew my patient/caregiver license?
Do I have to pay a tax on medical marijuana purchases?
Does COCO require a medical card to purchase products at the dispensary?
A medical card is required to purchase all products with THC. A medical card is not required in the waiting room to purchase CBD, CBG, apparel, or accessories.
Does COCO have a loyalty program?
Yes! Patients at COCO receive 3% back towards in store purchases. For every $100 spent, patients receive $3. Loyalty points may be spent in increments of $3 to $15 in one transaction. Points do not expire, and COCO keeps tracks of points so you don't have to!
What discounts does COCO offer on a weekly or daily basis?
- Everyday: Check in on Facebook $3 off
Everyday: 5% Veteran
Everyday: 10% Canna Matriarch
Everyday: Buy 2 eighths, get $5 off
Everyday: 1/2-ounce pricing ($20 discount)
Everyday: 1 ounce pricing ($80 discount)
Everyday: Patients earn 3% loyalty rewards
Every Monday: Veteran's 10% off
Every Wednesday: Senior's 10% off
Every Friday: CBD/CBG $5/gram or $3/gram with the purchase of any THC product.
Does COCO accept out of state medical cards?
No. There is no reciprocity between Missouri's Medical Marijuana Program and other state medical marijuana programs. Individuals licensed in another state do not automatically qualify for a license in Missouri.
How much may I purchase from COCO.
Qualified patients are allowed to purchase up to 4 oz. or 32 MME's of compliant product per month. See attached and show pic by question to explain MME's
Where can patients publicly consume cannabis/can I drive and consume?
A licensed patient shall not consume medical marijuana for medical use in a public place, unless prohibited by law. The patient ID card does not offer individuals protections from violating laws pertaining to operating a motorized vehicle while under the influence. Nothing in Article XIV permits a person to operate, navigate, or be in actual physical control of any dangerous device or motor vehicle, aircraft or boat while under the influence of marijuana.